Home » Food » Bakery

Bakery

Every year, more than
10 mio. tonnes of sucrose
are used in baked goods worldwide.
(Euromonitor, 2021)

Sucrose accounts for more than
90% of the amount
of sweeteners used in baked goods.
(Euromonitor, 2021)

Worldwide, more than
25,000 new product launches
annually in baked goods.
(Innova, 2021)

Your Challenges – Our Solutions

SAVANNA Ingredients

Characteristic browning effect

The golden-brown crust is one of the special features of many baked goods. The maillard reaction plays an essential role in this context. The issue with low-calorie sweeteners or sugar alcohols is that they do not undergo the maillard reaction, which results in the absence of the characteristic browning. This is different with allulose; Monosaccharide reacts with amino acids just like other sugar molecules. This  creates the typical brown colour and the special taste.

Read more about the characteristics of allulose.

©SAVANNA Ingredients

Calorie-free sweetness

Delicious baked goods with a low calorie content are not an impossibility: Allulose indeed has a typical sugar taste,  without any off-flavours that are typical for sweeteners and sugar alcohols. Nonetheless, allulose is characterized by a low energy density: At 0.2-0.4 kcal/g, the low-calorie sugar has less than a tenth of the calorie amount of sucrose (4 kcal/g). How is that possible? The human body does not metabolize allulose, so it also does not provide any energy. This way, the calorie content of baked goods can be significantly reduced without any loss of taste.

You can learn more about the metabolism and digestion of allulose here.

©SAVANNA Ingredients

Clean Labelling

Clean labelling is becoming increasingly more important for consumers. Products that a free-from additives and E-numbers thus have a competitive advantage. Allulose is a low-calorie sugar that is not classified as an additive but as food. The product is currently in the process of being approved as a novel food. This enables clean labelling of the final product. Another advantage is that allulose, like sugar, has body-giving properties. This means that no additional filler is necessary, which would potentially need to be declared as an additive.

You can find more information about the technological properties here.

SAVANNA Ingredients

Fresh for long, longer shelf life

A moist crumb is not just a quality feature of baked goods. It also shows that the product is particularly fresh. Allulose is a simple sugar and entails the following advantage in baked goods: It binds water better than sucrose; the crumb thus dries out more slowly. The product appears presentable and fresh for longer.

Furthermore, products with allulose have a longer shelf life. This can be seen in the example of a pound cake: an allulose-based product has a lower water activity in comparison to a pound cake with sucrose, an indication that allulose extends the shelf life of the product.

Find out more about the technological characteristics of allulose here.

©SAVANNA Ingredients

More heat-resistant, shinier, and whiter

Baked goods that stick together and thereby damage the sugar decoration? This doesn’t have to be the case. When processed in fondant, the disaccharide cellobiose has two decisive advantages: Since cellobiose binds relatively little moisture from the air, it has a lower tendency to hygroscopicity than conventional sugar. That makes the fondant more heat-resistant and less sticky. Fondant and sugar decorations based on cellobiose can also score, as the surface of the product appears whiter and has an intense shine, a visual added value for every baked good.

Find out more about our cellobiose.

Our solutions – your benefits

ALLULOSE

©SAVANNA Ingredients©SAVANNA Ingredients©SAVANNA Ingredients©SAVANNA Ingredients

CELLOBIOSE

©SAVANNA Ingredients©SAVANNA Ingredients

Photo credits
Header: © SAVANNA Ingredients
Content (top to bottom): © iStock / Xsandra, © SAVANNA Ingredients (2 x), © iStock / larik_malasha, © Pixabay

Home » Food » Bakery

Bakery

Jährlich werden weltweit mehr als
10 Mio. Tonnen
Saccharose in Backwaren eingesetzt.
(Euromonitor, 2021)

Saccharose macht
mehr als 90%
der eingesetzten Menge an Süßungsmitteln in Backwaren aus.
(Euromonitor, 2021)

Weltweit mehr als
25.000 Neuprodukte
jährlich im Segment Backwaren.
(Innova 2021)

Ihre Herausforderungen – Unsere Lösungen

SAVANNA Ingredients

Charakteristischer Bräunungseffekt

Die goldbraune Kruste ist eines der besonderen Merkmale vieler Backwaren. Für die Entstehung dieser spielt die Maillard-Reaktion eine wesentliche Rolle. Ein Nachteil bei kalorienarmen Süßstoffen oder Zuckeralkoholen: Sie gehen die Maillard-Reaktion nicht ein, die charakteristische Bräunung im Backprozess bleibt aus. Anders so bei Allulose – das Monosaccharid reagiert genau wie andere Zuckermoleküle mit den Aminosäuren. Die typische braune Farbe und der besondere Geschmack in der Backware entstehen.

Lesen Sie mehr über die Eigenschaften der Allulose.

©SAVANNA Ingredients

Kalorienfreie Süße

Köstliche Backwaren und ein niedriger Kaloriengehalt – das ist möglich! Allulose hat einen zuckertypischen Geschmack und keinerlei Off-Flavours, die für Süßstoffe und Zuckeralkohole typisch sind. Trotzdem zeichnet sich die Allulose durch einen geringen Brennwert aus: Mit 0,2-0,4 kcal/g hat der kalorienarme Zucker weniger als ein Zehntel der Kalorienmenge von Saccharose (4 kcal/g). Wie das möglich ist? Der menschliche Körper verstoffwechselt Allulose nicht, daher liefert sie auch keine Energie. So lässt sich der Kaloriengehalt von Backwaren ohne geschmackliche Einbußen deutlich reduzieren.

Hier erfahren Sie mehr über die Verstoffwechselung von Allulose.

©SAVANNA Ingredients

Clean Labelling

Das Thema Clean Labelling wird für Konsumenten immer wichtiger. Produkte ohne Zusatzstoffe und E-Nummern haben einen Wettbewerbsvorteil. Allulose ist ein kalorienarmer Zucker, der nicht als Zusatzstoff, sondern als Lebensmittel eingeordnet wird. Aktuell befindet sich das Produkt im Zulassungsprozess als Novel Food. Die Zulassung als Lebensmittel ermöglicht ein Clean Labelling des Endprodukts. Ein weiterer Vorteil: Allulose besitzt – genau wie Zucker – körpergebende Eigenschaften. Das bedeutet, es ist kein zusätzlicher Füllstoff zur Volumengebung notwendig, der möglicherweise als Zusatzstoff deklariert werden müsste.

Weitere Informationen zu den technologischen Eigenschaften der Allulose lesen Sie hier.

Lange frisch, länger haltbar

Eine saftige Krume ist nicht nur ein Qualitätsmerkmal von Backwaren. Sie zeigt auch, dass das Produkt besonders frisch ist. Die Allulose ist ein Einfachzucker und bringt in Backwaren folgenden Vorteil mit sich: Sie bindet Wasser besser als Saccharose – die Krume trocknet langsamer aus. Das Produkt scheint lange ansehnlich und frisch.
Außerdem sind Produkte mit Allulose länger haltbar. Das zeigt sich am Beispiel eines Rührkuchens: Ein Produkt auf Allulose-Basis zeichnet sich im Vergleich zu einem Rührkuchen mit Saccharose durch einen geringeren aw-Wert aus – ein Hinweis, dass Allulose die Produkt-Haltbarkeit verlängert.

Mehr rund um die technologischen Eigenschaften von Allulose erfahren Sie hier.

Hitzeresistenter, glänzender und weißer Fondant

Backwaren, die aneinanderkleben und so den Zuckerdekor beschädigen? Das muss nicht sein. In Fondant verarbeitet hat der Zweifachzucker Cellobiose zwei entscheidende Vorteile: Die Cellobiose bindet verhältnismäßig wenig Feuchtigkeit aus der Luft, sie hat also eine geringere Neigung zur Hygroskopizität als herkömmlicher Zucker. Das macht den Fondant hitzeresistenter und weniger klebrig. Auch darüber hinaus können Fondant und Zuckerdekor auf Cellobiose-Basis punkten: Die Oberfläche des Produkts wirkt weißer und glänzt intensiv – ein optischer Mehrwert für jede Backware.

Erfahren Sie hier mehr über das weite Anwendungsgebiet unserer Cellobiose.

Unsere Lösungen – Ihr Nutzen

ALLULOSE

©SAVANNA Ingredients©SAVANNA Ingredients©SAVANNA Ingredients©SAVANNA Ingredients

CELLOBIOSE

©SAVANNA Ingredients©SAVANNA Ingredients

Bildnachweise
Header: © SAVANNA Ingredients
Content (von oben nach unten): © iStock / Xsandra, © SAVANNA Ingredients (2 x), © iStock / larik_malasha, © Pixabay