Home » Food » Beverages

Beverages

In 2020, nearly
35.5 mio. tonnes of sweeteners
were used in beverages worldwide.
(Euromonitor, 2021)

Sucrose accounts for more than
50% of the amount
of sweeteners used in beverages.
(Euromonitor, 2021)

Most new product launches worldwide:
150,000 new products
from 2017 to 2020.
(Innova, 2021)

Your challenges – our solutions

SAVANNA Ingredients

Sweet but not a sin

With the approach for low-calorie beverages is full taste, no off-flavour and a pleasant mouth feeling. Allulose, as a simple sugar, has the perfect characteristics for this. Its taste is sugar-typical, but allulose differs from the sucrose in a point that is essential for consumers: the calorie content. The energy value of the low-calorie sugar (0.2-0.4 kcal/g) is less than a tenth of the calorie amount of sucrose (4 kcal/g). Although allulose is a sugar, the human body cannot metabolize it. Therefore, it does not provide any energy.

Find more information about the properties of allulose and its glycaemic index here.

SAVANNA Ingredients

Full mouth feeling

Low-calorie drinks can taste at least as good as sugar-containing alternatives. In addition to the sensory analysis, the mouth feeling is essential for this. Just like household sugar (sucrose), allulose has body-giving properties. These ensure that the mouth feeling of beverages neither becomes thin nor watery. Like sucrose, the low-calorie sugar achieves a full mouth feeling. In addition, allulose foams well and the foam is also stable. This is a quality feature, especially for mixed beer beverages. By the way: Allulose interacts positively with inverted sugar for example.

Find out more about this and further information about the characteristics of allulose here.

SAVANNA Ingredients

No additive, no E number

More and more end consumers look at the list of ingredients of products. All the better if as few flavours and E numbers as possible are listed on it – clean labelling is the trend. Unlike sweeteners or sugar alcohols such as erythritol and xylitol, allulose is classified as a food. The reason for this is that the low-calorie sugar is currently in the approval process to be classified as a novel food. Body-giving fillers that may have to be specified as additives are also not needed for drinks with allulose because the low-calorie sugar ensures the right consistency.

We have put together further information about allulose for you here.

SAVANNA Ingredients

Diet drinks with no aftertaste

More and more diet drinks taste almost as good as the sugar-containing alternatives if it weren’t for the aftertaste. Such an off-flavour is typical, for example, in products that are sweetened with stevia. A typical „off-flavour-diet taste“ can be covered with the help of cellobiose: Cellobiose shapes, changes and thus improves the taste of the products. In terms of consistency, cellobiose also has a positive impact on “lighter” products: It gives the liquid body and ensures a full mouth feeling.

In this overview, you can read about how cellobiose can also be used.


  Allulose in beverages. Watch our video on this topic and click here.


Our solutions – your benefits

ALLULOSE

©SAVANNA Ingredients©SAVANNA Ingredients©SAVANNA Ingredients©SAVANNA Ingredients

CELLOBIOSE

©SAVANNA Ingredients©SAVANNA Ingredients©SAVANNA Ingredients©SAVANNA Ingredients

Photo credits
Header: © iStock / jxfzsy
Content (top to bottom): © iStock / JulijaDmitrijeva, bhofack2, karandaev, nirat /

Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com

“ data-wplink-url-error=“true“>flaticon

Home » Food » Beverages

Beverages

Weltweit wurden 2020 fast
35,5 Mio. Tonnen
Süßungsmittel in Getränken eingesetzt.
(Euromonitor, 2021)

Saccharose macht weltweit etwa
50% der Einsatzmenge
aller Süßungsmittel in Getränken aus.
(Euromonitor, 2021)

Die meisten Neuprodukteinführungen weltweit:
150.000 Neuprodukte
zwischen 2017 – 2020.
(Innova, 2021)

Ihre Herausforderungen – Unsere Lösungen

SAVANNA IngredientsSüß aber keine Sünde

Das Ziel bei kalorienarmen Getränken: Voller Geschmack, kein Off-Flavour und ein angenehmes Mundgefühl. Der Einfachzucker Allulose hat dafür die perfekten Voraussetzungen. Ihr Geschmack ist zuckertypisch, die Allulose unterscheidet sich von der Saccharose allerdings in einem Punkt, der für Konsumenten wesentlich ist: Dem Kaloriengehalt. Der Brennwert des kalorienarmen Zuckers (0,2-0,4 kcal/g) liegt bei weniger als einem Zehntel der Kalorienmenge von Saccharose (4 kcal/g). Allulose ist zwar ein Zucker, der menschliche Körper kann sie allerdings nicht verstoffwechseln. Daher liefert sie keine Energie.

Weitere Informationen rund um die Eigenschaften der Allulose und ihren glykämischen Index finden Sie hier.

SAVANNA Ingredients

Volles Mundgefühl

Kalorienarme Getränke können mindestens so gut schmecken, wie die zuckerhaltigen Alternativen. Essenziell dafür ist neben der Sensorik das Mundgefühl. Allulose hat genau wie Haushaltszucker (Saccharose) körpergebende Eigenschaften. Diese sorgen dafür, dass das Mundgefühl von Getränken weder dünn noch wässrig wird. Wie Saccharose schafft der kalorienarme Zucker ein volles Mundgefühl. Dazu kommt, dass sich Allulose gut schäumen lässt und der Schaum auch stabil ist – ein Qualitätsmerkmal, besonders bei Biermischgetränken. Übrigens: Allulose geht zum Beispiel mit Invertzucker eine positive Wechselwirkung ein.

Mehr darüber und weitere Informationen zu den Eigenschaften der Allulose erfahren Sie hier.

SAVANNA Ingredients

Kein Zusatzstoff, keine E-Nummer

Immer mehr Endverbraucher werfen einen Blick auf die Zutatenliste von Produkten. Umso besser, wenn darauf so wenig Aromen und E-Nummern wie möglich gelistet sind – Clean Labelling ist Trend. Anders als Süßstoffe oder Zuckeralkohole wie Erythrit und Xylit ist Allulose als Lebensmittel einzuordnen. Der Hintergrund: Der kalorienarme Zucker befindet sich aktuell im Zulassungsprozess als Novel Food. Auch körpergebende Füllstoffe, die gegebenenfalls als Zusatzstoff angegeben werden müssten, braucht es bei Getränken mit Allulose nicht: Der kalorienarme Zucker sorgt für die richtige Konsistenz.

Hier haben wir Ihnen weitere Informationen rund um die Allulose zusammengestellt.

SAVANNA Ingredients

Light-Getränke ohne Nebengeschmack

Immer mehr Light-Getränke schmecken fast so gut wie die zuckerhaltigen Alternativen – wenn der Nachgeschmack nicht wäre. Typisch ist ein solches Off-Flavour zum Beispiel bei Produkten, die mit Stevia gesüßt werden. Mithilfe von Cellobiose lässt sich ein typischer „Off-Flavour-Light-Geschmack“ kaschieren: Der neue Zweifachzucker formt, verändert und verbessert damit den Geschmack der Produkte. Auch in Puncto Konsistenz hat Cellobiose einen positiven Einfluss auf „leichtere“ Produkte: Sie gibt der Flüssigkeit Körper und sorgt für ein volles Mundgefühl.

Wie sich Cellobiose außerdem einsetzen lässt, lesen Sie in dieser Übersicht.


  Allulose in Getränken. Schauen Sie sich unser Video zu diesem Thema an. Klicken Sie hier.


Unsere Lösungen – Ihr Nutzen

ALLULOSE

©SAVANNA Ingredients©SAVANNA Ingredients©SAVANNA Ingredients©SAVANNA Ingredients

CELLOBIOSE

©SAVANNA Ingredients©SAVANNA Ingredients©SAVANNA Ingredients©SAVANNA Ingredients

Bildnachweise
Header: © iStock / jxfzsy
Content (von oben nach unten): © iStock / JulijaDmitrijeva, bhofack2, karandaev, nirat, flaticon